What Degree to Get

Jake Parrish
2 min readOct 14, 2017

--

Photo by Cole Keister on Unsplash

As I look mindlessly over my Econ notes for the upcoming midterm on Tuesday I contemplate where an Economics degree would take me. I began to worry because I do not think I want to be an economist or an academic in the field. Then I began to think if I get accepted into the business school on Monday should I go that route instead?

Will it really matter?

As a typical college student I am still unsure of my path after graduation however, due to preconceived notions, I used to believe that certain degrees are more valuable than others. According to job demand and starting salary statistics some degrees clearly appear superior. However I believe the fascination of the degree type is beginning to dwindle as focus on real experience and skills rise. As it should be.

Your degree should not define your path.

If you come into college already knowing you want to be a computer scientist or a business consultant or some other defined profession, congratulations. The path from your computer science degree to your profession will most likely be pretty straight forward (if your passion remains the same).

However for the rest of us (which I think is the majority) the path seems a little less defined coming into college. We may declare one major then find we don’t like it and eventually switch. Or be intimidated to declare a major that piques our intellectual curiosity because the post college path seems undefined or simply not enticing.

The degree should not define the rest of your professional life but should simply be a starting block that you leap from. Sure it will probably lead to a similar field to begin with but you can always deviate.

There are so many examples of people succeeding in fields that have nothing to do with their degree. Check out this list of CEOs that got liberal arts degrees and are now running some of the biggest companies.

It is not about where you start, but rather where you are going.

If you do not know where you are going in college then that is perfectly fine. So many people are in the same boat. Get that degree that piques your intellectual curiosity. If that degree does not align with what you want to do in your career than pivot until you get there. Develop the skills, develop the experiences, and develop the drive and eventually the path will appear.

After all I am not too worried if I do not get into the business school. Hey Steven Spielberg was rejected from USC School of Cinema Arts twice. Look how he turned out. I know that my degree will not define me, I will get to where I am going no matter what.

--

--