The Best Christmas Present

Jake Parrish
1 min readDec 26, 2017

--

Photo by Wesley Tingey on Unsplash

Christmas morning as a child was exciting. Wake up and see what Santa brought. Did I get that new bike? Did I get that new game?

Run downstairs and unwrap all the gifts as soon as possible.

Play all the games, try out all the new outdoorsy things, crack open the fresh books. It was a wonderful event.

However this Christmas as I unwrapped my gifts I noticed that I was more excited for my sister, brother-in-law, and niece to come over.

I could not wait to play board games all day, to see my niece open her gifts, and to just hang out with the family.

This is truly the best Christmas gift, spending time with ones you love.

Recognizing what I am grateful for every morning for the past month or so has began to adjust my daily thoughts…and I love it!

I now notice more often what really matters and in 2018 I will continue to grow this mindset.

I will focus on becoming the best Jake Parrish I can be.

And I will continue to be grateful for what matters in my life, family and friends.

Happy Holidays!

--

--