Putting Pen to Paper

Jake Parrish
2 min readJan 13, 2018

--

Photo by Green Chameleon on Unsplash

There is nothing that quite feels like putting pen to paper.

Sure Medium is nice because anything you write can, with a click of a button, reach thousands, heck millions, of people in an instant. This is truly remarkable.

However it is often times too simple.

Today I had the sudden urge to write a letter, something I have regretfully not done in some time.

I wrote my kindergarten teacher, yes we have stayed in touch after all these years. It felt good discussing how I was doing in school, my visions for after school, my ambitions.

Writing with pen forced me to carefully think out each sentence. Sure I scratched out a mistake here or there but it was not as rushed as electronic writing usually is.

Writing that letter became soothing.

Everything started to flow.

I am on my way to sending that letter right now.

I found that sometimes there is beauty to the old way of doing things.

Sure the new way is often better in terms of speed and scope but in terms of connecting I truly think pen to paper is the way to go.

I suggest everyone think of one person they can write a letter to and go for it. It is a good change of speed from hitting the keys.

Also it is a great way to truly connect to an old friend. After all how many hand written letters do people get anymore?

All the best!

--

--